The Parksville Museum is operated under the auspices of the Parksville & District Historical Society, and is located at 1245 East Island Highway, next to the Parksville Tourist Information Centre.
The museum was opened in 1983 when the first building arrived on site; the Knox Heritage Church. Since then the museum has grown in leaps and bounds and now boasts 8 heritage buildings as well the main museum, admin offices and exhibit hall.
The museum's primary mandate is to collect, preserve, and display artifacts and archival materials that pertain to the varied aspects of this area. The geographic focus of our collection is that of School District 69 which includes Parksville, Errington, Coombs, Hilliers, French Creek and Nanoose Bay. The museum has an expansive collection of objects that help us illustrate the lives and activities of early settlers, organizations and businesses of the local communities.
The Archives section of our organization focuses on the collecting of documents and records of historical and cultural value which details the lives of early pioneers. Apart from records pertaining to local families and organizations, the holdings also include a large photograph collection, map collection, paintings and prints, oral history tapes, video tapes and films. Reference materials include a newspaper collection and clipping file, published local histories, and biographical notes.
The Park is located on the the south end of Parksville at the junction of Highway 19A and Franklin Gull Rd. (Stop light corner), adjacent to the Tourist Information Centre. Access and parking at the rear on Northwest Bay Rd.
Become a Member!
Help us protect our community's history!
- Parksville Museum Newsletter-keep abreast of all events
- One free 2 hour rental of our meeting room
- 10% discount in the Museum Gift Shop (some exceptions will apply)
- VIP Access and discounts on special events and the Urban Farm School
- Unlimited entrance into Parksville Museum